Finlayson Art Area is an annual, interesting event of visual arts at the Finlayson area. Scattered around the “old town” galleries and alleys this free event gathers together known and unknown artists from Finland and overseas. The Finlayson Art Area (FAA) will be held for the fifth time this summer in Tampere. The event attracts many art lovers and artists from Finland and all over the world every year. The exhibition complex includes art e.g. from Matthew Day Jackson and Yuichiro Sato. All exhibitions are free of charge. Exhibitions are open 7.6.–25.8. Tue–Sun at 11–18. More information about this year’s exhibitions from this link (in Finnish).
is a must visit during summer! This block of wooden buildings showcases the working-class lifestyle and history of Tampere. Amuri Museum of Workers’ Housing presents facts in an engaging way and sheds light on human fates and ways of life across nine decades. Amuri is also bustling with events every summer. There are museum tours for adults, action tours for children and nostalgia tours for the elderly, and much more.
is one of Tampere’s most unusual museums. The museum is also the smallest museum in Europe and the only of its kind. A former milk reception center, which was used to receive milk, represents a living history of Finnish culture. The Museum is located 50 km from Tampere, in the countryside along the road, and is open from June to October daily all the time. The theme of exhibition is changed every year.
are famously known museums in the town of Mänttä in Tampere Region. While Gustaf exhibits the history of the town and family behind a booming paper industry, Gösta is the museum dedicated to “old and new art” and features changing themed exhibitions as well as artworks of the Golden Age of Finnish art.
This summer Serlachius-Museum Gösta opens two exhibitions. Classic works of fine art at the manor -exhibition is stylish new collection hanging which presents the classics, in the authentic spirit of the old manor. Exhibition opens from 6 April. Other exhibition is Matthew Day Jackson‘s exhibition Maa, which is his first in Finland. It is organized as a survey of his figurative sculpture which can be experienced in conjunction with a role-playing game, created especially for the exhibition, which delves into the post-apocalyptic narrative from which the sculptures spring. Exhibition is on display 18 May-29 Sep.
Hop on the Serlachius bus from Tampere railway station and let it take you to the art destinations of Mänttä! The bus runs on the days that the museums are open, that is 1 September–31 May from Tuesday to Sunday and 1 June–31 August daily.
The Mänttä Art Festival, from June 16 to September 1, is the largest summer exhibition of Finnish contemporary art. Its curator is selected annually, guaranteeing that our exhibition always picks a fresh selection from the plentiful Finnish contemporary art field. The award-winning Mänttä Art Festival is a destination highly regarded by art professionals and much loved by the general public. Permanent exhibition space is located in Pekilo, in the centre of Mänttä. The theme of the XXIV Art Festival is “The Human Era”. The exhibition poses the question: What happens when humans control the land and natural resources?
The Mänttä Art Festival has selected Marja Helander as the curator for the 2019 exhibition. Helander is a Sámi photographer, video artist and film-maker with roots both in Helsinki and Utsjoki. In her work, she has studied various themes including her own identity between the Finnish and the Sámi culture.
is located in the centre of the most beautiful nature on the shore of Längelmävesi. Each year Purnu organizes summer exhibitions with changing themes, full of current Finnish modern artists. In summer 2019, Purnu’s exhibition is open daily from 11-18 during 6.6.-11.8.2019 and for groups on request 20.5.-25.8.2019.
Quite close to the busy railroad yard in Toijala, which is part of the city of Akaa, is a distinctive Locomotive Museum which exhibits old diesel and steam locomotives as well as work trains. There’s 12 locomotives on display at the moment. Opening times for summer 2019: 1.6.-31.8. at 10-16 every day.
showcases the life and works of sculptor Emil Wikström (1864-1942) and his grandson, cartoonist Kari Suomalainen (1920-1999). The museum is situated in Sääksmäki village, in the city of Valkeakoski. Visavuori has three buildings: Emil Wikström’s home, his studio, and Kari’s Pavilion. Visavuori has remained almost unchanged since the times when Wikström lived and worked there. The decor and artefacts in this exceptional timber dwelling are authentic and allow you to sense the atmosphere of an early-20th-century artistic home.
is one of the most notable and historical mansions in Finland, situated in Vesilahti and it was recently renovated to its full splendor. Spend a whole summer day in the idyllic premises, restaurant and the gift shop.
is an authentic rural idyll only a few kilometres from the centre of Pirkkala and the Tampere–Pirkkala airport. The yard of the old Reippi farm, as well as its horse pastures and sheep enclosures, are part of the museum area. The area is kept in its original state to allow visitors to experience what life in Pirkkala was like only 50 years ago.
The open-air museum includes three storehouses, two barns, a workshop, and a shed, which were brought to the site from different parts of Pirkkala. The storehouses showcase rustic artefacts from the late 19th and the 20th century related to rural sources of livelihood, a food-based economy, and handicrafts. Events are held at the museum in summertime.
is Ensign Stål’s cabinis where Ensign Karl Gustaf Polviander lived. He fought in the Swedish army against Napoleon’s troops in Germany in 1807 and took part in the War of Finland (1808–1809). As a young student, a certain J.L. Runeberg often visited Polviander’s cabin, where he heard war stories that inspired many of his poetry collections, including the book The Tales of Ensign Stål.
In addition to the ensign’s cabin, the open-air museum consists of a loft storehouse and two smaller storehouses that were originally located elsewhere and moved to the museum later. Legend has it that one of these was built in the late 17th century, which would make it one of the oldest wooden buildings in the region. Open in July 2019.