Skip to content

The church of Tyrvää is situated on the banks of Vammaskoski (Vammas rabisrapids) near the historical Vammasbridge, and is the main church of the parish. The church with its two towers as well as the bridge are a unique symbol of the town. The church was designed by P. J. Gylich who was the city architect of Turku. The church was completed in 1855. The three altarpieces were painted by R. W. Ekman in 1866. In the chancel there is a sculptured plaster copy of Christ, made by professor Ville Wallgren. The most valuable altar cloth was designed by artist Greta Skogster. The church will hold 1 000 people. The organs with 30 registers are made by Åkerman & Lund 1986 in Knivsta, Sweden. There are only two church with two towers in Finand, The church of Tyrvää and S:t John´s church in Helsinki.

Look more