Skip to content

Bertie Baigent, conductor
Janne Mertanen, piano

Bernard Herrmann: Vertigo suite
George Gershwin: Rhapsody in Blue
Samuel Barber: Adagio for Strings
Leonard Bernstein: Symphonic Dances from West Side Story

In honour of the 125th anniversary of George Gershwin Tampere Philharmonic transports the audience to the golden age of Hollywood. Manhattan skyline, boulevards bathed in neon light and a whiff of smoky jazz – Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue translates the spirit of New York into music. The evergreen symphonic dances from Bernstein’s West Side Story make the feet tap in the seats. Herrmann’s suite from Vertigo is a gem rarely heard in concert.

The concert is part of the orchestra’s subscriber series. Teokset tutuiksi (pre-concert talk, free entry) at 6 pm, Lapsiparkki (childcare with activity, 10 €) at 6:45 pm.

The concert has an intermission. The concert ends around 9 pm.