Skip to content
Visit Tampere
Search the site

Ellivuori and Pirunvuori

Pirunvuori has been and continues to be a popular tourist destination since the mid-19th century due to its stunning scenery. Pirunvuori is home to the studio of the painter Emil Danielsson (1882-1967), built of natural stone. The stone castle was built in 1906 during one summer by a few local men without modern building equipment. Emil Danielsson arrived with his wife, Saga (o.s. Aurora Andel), every summer on Pirunvuori for almost sixty years.

The city of Sastamala keeps stone castle open during the summer, and then the stone castle has changing art exhibitions. In addition, at any time, also during the winter season, you can visit Pirunvuori and stone castle with a local guide.

Visitors of Pirunvuori can leave their cars in the yard of Ellivuori Hotel (Ellivuorentie 131, Sastamala). Near the hotel yard, along the left edge of the VuoriCaravan caravan park, there is a well-maintained, more than a kilometer-long path to Pirunvuori and stone castle.

Virtual tour of Pirunvuori

Virtual tour of the Stone Castle of Pirunvuori

Brochure of Pirunvuori