Skip to content

The Local History Museum displays the local traditions of Parkano. The grain warehouse finished in 1890 next to the Parkano Church stores the section of the Baron of Parkano, Gustaf Wrede af Elimä, a local bedroom and cabin and a selection of tools. Upstairs there is a large quantity of old items from the Parkano Church, acting for example as a reminder of the lighting that struck the tower of the Parkano Church on Midsummer Day, 24th of June 1928.

The specialties of the museum are the tools of the town shoemaker and midwife, an exhibition showcasing the making of pettuleipä (bread with pine bark), and Germund Paaer’s replica of the painting “The Defense of the Sampo” by Akseli Gallen-Kallela.

Look more